A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495
FREE Shipping

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

It is an easy to read cozy mystery with a good pace but as in the first book, there was some unnecessary filler, which made it drag a little in places. I won’t talk too much about the plot other than to say it resolves (as the title indicates) around poison pen letters, and that delving into the who,what, where, why and when allows Hall to show us all over again why retired primary school teachers are really superheroes! Malice and mayhem spur a school reunion of three modern Marples – and some of their Thirsk community learn a lesson they’ll never forget ! Really enjoyed the school setting and the plot and pace of the book was good, it kept me wanting to keep on reading which is always good! Retired schoolteachers and amateur sleuths Liz, Pat and Thelma have a brand-new mystery to solve in this witty tale.

A new head teacher was appointed to run the three friends' former school, and both Thelma and Liz soon find out that there are issues there. However, there are enough twists and turns to keep you turning the pages and the three protagonists are likeable, so all in all an, it’s an enjoyable read.It shows you the long going friendship between the women however as tensions rise in the school, the women start to slowly disagree and you see a leader. So many of these characters were often introduced either by first or last name only, and later on referred to by the other; and often these names were dropped in conversations or hints at the plot without aiding the reader in linking back to a previous encounter, so it was hard to follow. A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns, and an intriguing cast of characters – some endearing, some not so much! The author has found his writing style and I hope we will have more books with these wonderful characters.

The school setting is interesting as themes relating to changes in the education system are explored as part of the main plot.When he not writing, Jon is happy to take his mind off the trials of creativity by doing something practical, such as organising a playground rota or marking a pile of books. Only this time, instead of an unexpected death it is a series of threatening poison pen letters that are disturbing the peace at their local school, which is under new management. A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns , and an intriguing cast of characters – some endearing, some not so much! It did not, the novel frequently hints at scenarios that could lead to murder or lead to a body, that kind of thing but then these scenarios end up being nothing at all. The book is let down by common sense, (it was inconceivable that various bodies and the police were not notified).

Each of them is dealing with their own problems and, instead of sharing them as they usually do, they are keeping things close to their various chests, placing a strain on their relationships. The others are not as close to the problem, so don't fully appreciate the severity of the situation, despite their concern, until two incidents cause the three to come together to investigate in earnest. I found it very hard to keep track of all the different characters and their relationship to one another, and the numerous side plots made for a very disrupted flow of the story. Sitting in the conservatory with her after-lunch cup of tea she tried to rake her thoughts in the same way as she'd planned to rake leaves, but whenever she gathered ideas from one thought, along came a gust of another idea, scattering them again.

I have to admit, I got a little bit confused at the start of the book between Linda and Liz, Pat and Jan, but I soon got them all straightened out as the story (and characters) developed. To access your ebook(s) after purchasing, you can download the free Glose app or read instantly on your browser by logging into Glose. It was literally like she heard it from that brother who was friends with the mum of that girl down the road that used to live in Spain.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop